Argentina Wine Region

Argentina has four major wine growing regions which includes; Mendoza, San Juan, La Rioja and Salta. By far the leading and most prestigious region is Mendoza which is located just east of Buenos Aires in the foothills of the Andes Mountains.

Argentina produces these main grape varieties: Merlot, Malbec, Bonarda, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc.

Argentina’s signature grape is Malbec, known for its deep colour, intense fruity flavours and soft texture. Originally from Bordeaux the Argentinean Malbec has thrived in a warm climate and displays structure and complexity rarely found in its native cold climate.